Why write a blog?

First of all, welcome to my blog!  I’m excited to share my training experiences and hope some of my stories and lessons learned will be entertaining and useful to you.  I decided to create this blog both to share my experiences as well as to chronicle our 17-week marathon training.  Mike (my husband), Matt (my younger brother) and I decided to register for the Richmond Marathon for this November 2013.  This will be our first marathon!  I’d say we are pretty solid runners with Mike having run the most years, then me with about 4 years of running and then Matt whose first race (Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon in DC) was just this past March!  Although Mike and I have done quite a few half marathons and 10-milers, we have never followed a formal training plan.  For the Richmond Marathon, we’re following the Hal Higdon Novice II plan which calls for shorter runs on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday with a long run on Saturday.  So why did we decide to do a marathon in the first place?  We had been tossing around the idea of doing one but the distance and the training involved seemed daunting.  This past spring, I had a meeting with my career counselor (MBA program) regarding my resume and she said to include running as an interest of mine.  She asked if I’ve done a marathon because then I could put “marathon running” as an interest (half-marathon running just doesn’t sound as good).  I knew I could run it.  I’m not running the Richmond marathon so I can put marathon runner on my resume (but I will definitely do that).  I’m running it to prove that I can.  To become a marathon runner.

576510_697164719344_1366715600_n

Mike and I at the Army 10-Miler in 2012

Mike and I talked about which marathon to run, weighing the pros and cons of big race vs. small race, close to home vs. destination.  We settled on Richmond’s Marathon, which is consistently ranked as one of the top small town marathons.  For me, I really feed off the crowds of spectators and this race is known for town support.  Plus the race not too far from DC, it’s on a Saturday, and November is typically a good time of the year weather-wise in Richmond.  And we’ve never been to Richmond before!

Matt will go into more detail in one of his guest blogger posts about why he decided to do the Richmond Marathon.  For Matt, it wasn’t as easy a decision as it was for me and Mike.  He had to think about what he’d be giving up in order to stick to the training schedule.  But he knew he would be able to train with us and knew he also wanted to achieve the goal of running a marathon.

Matt and I at Rock 'n Roll USA Half Marathon 2013

Matt and I at Rock ‘n Roll USA Half Marathon 2013

I’m so excited the three of us are training together.  We’ll be able to learn from each other’s experiences as well as have continued support throughout the whole process.  This will be truly transformational.  I get goosebumps thinking about the moment running down the hill at mile 26 to the finish line at Richmond.  It’s amazing to think of how far we will come in these next few months.  Thank you for coming along on the journey with us by reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

