Day 1 of Recovery Exercises

While Matt and Mike ran their 3 miles this morning, I went to the gym to try the elliptical. I had no problems and went for a full 30 minutes (just the length of time to read the latest US Weekly, which was luckily available at the gym). I actually had to get off to stretch my RIGHT calf because it felt tight. My left calf still feels really loose, just sore from yesterday’s sports massage. After the elliptical, I did 2 sets of 20 reps of calf raises on the Bosu ball. Then 3 sets of 30 reps of calf stretches on a step. I iced my calf back at home for 10 minutes and put on the compression sleeve for the day. My left calf feels bruised in the area that he really worked out the knots yesterday. But it feels much more mobile. I’m curious to see how I’ll feel tomorrow.

The hot pink calf compression sleeve is quite a conversation piece at work. Lots of people have come up to me to ask about my injury and often to share their own stories or stories of people they’ve known.

After dinner tonight, I put the heated-up corn bag on my calf for 5 minutes to loosen up the muscle, and then headed down to the gym in our building to do another 2 sets of calf raises on the Bosu ball. Those are hard for me when I don’t have a calf strain! And then I did the stair stretches in the stairwell. Tomorrow I add in the knee to wall exercise that I think is, by far, the hardest (more on that one tomorrow). I’m feeling good about my progress and really hope I’ll feel okay to jog on the treadmill on Friday!

photo-10

photo-9

One comment

  1. David Kruczlnicki · · Reply

    Another great blog, KK. I’m really glad you put in the pics of doing the calf exercises on the boss ball. I’m supposed to be doing calf exercises regularly because of my club foot/skinny right calf and will try those tomorrow morning.

    I hope your progress continues.

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

