Running in the Mud

Week 3 training for the Richmond Marathon. Today was our first rainy run morning. Luckily it was just a 3 miler and really more misting than raining. Mike and I ran up to the mall again. I really like that we get to get off the pavement and onto hard-packed dirt on the mall. However, it had rained A LOT last night so the hard-packed dirt was extremely soft. Initially I thought that would be great for my calf recovery. A nice, soft running surface with less pressure when I’d smack my foot down. I quickly realized that it actually really bothered my calf. Since I was sinking into the mud/dirt, my calf had to stretch and push off a little extra, a little too much for me in my still-recovering week. So we diverted back to the paved surface and it was much better!

I am paranoid about getting injured again or regressing. It’s going to take time to get over my nervousness. I really think about every step I take, including where and how my foot will land. It’s probably fine (and a good thing!) to be a little cautious now as I return to running this week. Even though I stretched quite a bit, my calves feel tight now, about 12 hours later. I’ll stretch more tonight but am glad we have tomorrow off as a rest day. Then a 6-miler on Saturday.

We used our new Garmin watches today! It was so much easier to see my pace than using the Nike + app on my phone. And I love how you can get a quick snapshot of the run, mile by mile, after it’s completed. I ran much faster than I did 2 days ago – progress! The goal is 9:00, fastest unless we are doing a pace run which would be 8:30 (marathon goal pace).
Here are my stats:
Mile 1: 8:54
Mile 2: 9:00
Mile 3: 9:02

Other exciting news today – it was Fin Fest 2013 at Discovery Communications, celebrating the almost-start to Shark Week!

Cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcake - love the Snuffy one on the far right!

Cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcake – love the Snuffy one on the far right!


With Snuffy and our matching shark fin hats!

With Snuffy and our matching shark fin hats!

One comment

  1. David Kruczlnicki · · Reply

    Everyone enjoy the rest-day tomorrow! You’ve earned it!

Leave a Reply

