I Really Do Enjoy Treadmill Running

I know it sounds weird. I really enjoy treadmill running. However, I do need to be watching a tv (on mute with captions) and be listening to music at the same time. I’ve gotten pretty good at reading US Weekly, as well, while running on the treadmill. I just think it can be so relaxing sometimes. When running outside, you need to be pretty aware – of cars, other runners, bikers, dogs, uneven surfaces, sun, etc. On the treadmill, you don’t need to pay attention to anything. I used to run 2-3 times (M-F) 6 miles on the treadmill, usually. I loved trying to get a little bit faster every week and really pushing myself.

So this morning I did 4 miles in about 35 minutes. At mile 1.5, I was thinking there would be NO WAY I could do the half marathon on Sunday. My foot burned on the bottom, I was already feeling kind of tired, my legs were heavy. Seriously, 1.5 miles in?! I told myself that. Pull it together. So I kept going for four miles. Nothing too exciting to report other than my self-doubt at mile 1.5. Just a few months ago I easily ran between 7.8 and 8.0 and now I’m at a solid 6.5-7.0 on the treadmill…for four miles…. I’ll get back there though!

Image 1

Image 2
I think treadmill running will be the best way for me to get to where I was before the injuries. It’s nice to know I can get off whenever I want and that there is a bathroom and water dispenser nearby. I think it’ll be easier to increase my speed gradually with the treadmill running and see progress. I love doing intervals on the treadmill – it makes the time fly by!
As for the half marathon on Sunday, I’m going to make that call on Saturday evening (maybe Sunday morning). My feet feel fine today! Slightly sore but better than earlier in the week. AND I don’t have KT tape on today. A note about KT Tape – how is supposed to stay on for 3-5 days?! It barely lasted 12 hours even when I rubbed pretty hard. Maybe if you wear socks. The KT tape came off yesterday when I was doing YogaX. I reapplied tape and it started peeling on the top from where my cropped pants kept hitting it. Oh well. Also, yoga is supposed to be great for plantar fasciitis, specifically Down Dog but you really need to push your heels down to the floor (or try to get close – I can’t touch yet).

Costco sells Horizon Organic Chocolate Milk milk boxes. Delicious!

The BEST for recovery

The BEST for recovery

Leave a Reply

