Birkenstocks are the Best Sandals

I have a confession – I love wearing my very out-of-style Birkenstocks around our house. They are the most comfortable shoes! And more comfortable than even going barefoot. Especially with my calf issues and now plantar fasciitis, I really don’t want to take my Birks off. After accidentally leaving our house once wearing them (AH!), I realized I should purchase a more in-style pair of Birks. ASAP. Knowing that we’d be walking around Philadelphia a lot after the half marathon, I tried to utilize my VIP Zappos status and Amazon Prime membership to get a pair quickly. But what style?

When Mike and I were in southern France for our honeymoon last summer, we saw so many people wearing Birkenstocks – mainly the thong style or 1-strap style. They are coming back. I know it and I will be ahead of the trend in the US. So anyway, I considered the thong style or 1-strap style since the French defined those two as the in-style Birks. The color selection isn’t great. Birkenstock needs to work on that. They either look too shiny or too hippie-ish. I was able to find a pair I really like though! I’m putting a higher value on comfort than on style.

Birkenstocks are great for plantar fasciitis and even have a page on their website about how Birks help with PF. From the website: It would make sense to think that a softer and more “cushiony” shoe would be more comfortable. But in fact, the Birkenstock concept of comfort is based on firm, orthopedically correct support. As with a quality mattress, feet require solid support and correct positioning providing maximum comfort and health. Our footbed features proper arch support, a deep heel cup, and adequate room in the toe area – all to help distribute weight evenly for the entire foot. The result is improved posture and balance for greater comfort when walking.

So here are all my options:

A little too hippie-ish looking - brown looked sloppy

A little too hippie-ish looking – brown looked sloppy

Cute and on sale but hard to walk in

Cute and on sale but hard to walk in

Again hard to keep on my feet

Again hard to keep on my feet

WINNER!

WINNER!

Not 100% sold on the gold

Not 100% sold on the gold

My old Arizona Birks

My old Arizona Birks

Now I just have to break them in! Happy to have them for Philadelphia!

Leave a Reply

