Evening Running

This is the first week I’ve run in the evenings in a very long time. It’s such a different running experience, at least for me. It’s getting harder to run in the mornings with the sunrise now a little after 7 am. And it’s harder to get out of bed when it’s dark out! I like running in the mornings because my stomach is empty; it’s a great way to start the day; I get it over with and have the evenings free; I can think about my game plan for the day; and it energizes me for the day! But there are cons like the whole getting out of bed when it’s dark out. For now, while it’s still fairly light out in the evenings, I’m running after work. There are definite pros and cons.

I looked forward to my 5 mile run all day on Monday. It actually turned into a 6 mile run because I wanted to get all the way to Lincoln. After a very busy day at work, I was anxious for some relaxing running time to reflect and zone out. It’s been unusually warm in DC so I’m still able to wear my summertime running gear. I might sound crazy but I find evening running so much more calming than morning running, which is more energizing for me. I ran the fastest I have run in a long time. I know Hal Higdon encourages you to do 30-90 seconds slower than your marathon pace. I find that really hard to do. My stride feels weird and off; I just feel uncomfortable. So I ran faster than my marathon pace. I just find it more fun to run at my usual pace. I just fall into it.

Screen Shot 2013-10-04 at 4.22.32 PM
On Wednesday, although I was looking forward to the run, I felt drained from work and school. I really just wanted to sit on the couch and watch tv for an hour before dinner. But Mike was already out running and I knew I’d feel better after a run on a gorgeous summer-like day. Plus, I was curious to see the National Mall post-government shut-down. I brought my iPhone so I could take some pictures and listen to Pandora for a change-up. My legs felt HEAVY. In addition, my stomach felt weird. I had to stop a few times during mile 5 because of stomach pains. I tried to push through it, thinking I may have this problem during the marathon (hopefully unlikely since I won’t have a full day of meals in my stomach) and I’ll want to run through it. I ran into Mike around mile 1.5; he was on his way home.

5 miles done, a few more to go!

5 miles done, a few more to go!

The WWII Memorial is shut down. There were a bunch of people taking pictures of this sign.

Image 3

The water fountains next to the Memorial have the most-intense water pressure now (huge arc!) maybe due to the fountain being off. So good news that the drinking fountains are still on and the bathroom by the Washington Monument is still open (although I didn’t need it). DC is just so beautiful at sunset and there’s so much action on the Mall. Such a nice way to end the day!

Image 4

Image 5

I tackled, for the first time since June, running up Capitol Hill. I was probably really SLOW but I told myself I wouldn’t walk. My PT said to avoid hills but I think I should do some to be prepared for some hills at Richmond. I don’t mind hills because I know there will be a fun downhill!

Image 7

Here are my splits (I stopped at mile 2 to take a photo and forgot to stop my watch – oops!):

Screen Shot 2013-10-04 at 9.43.15 PM
Mike and I walked to Nando’s Peri Peri for dinner and sat outside. It was still so warm out! I am obsessed with their endless combination soda machine:

Image 1

Image 2

I end up drinking a ridiculous amount of fluids every time we go there. I had Minute Maid Lemonade Light (watermelon) and Diet Vanilla Root Beer. Here’s my chicken wrap with fries and grilled corn. The Peri Peri salt on the fries is delicious (extra 15 cents). I wish they sold it! I could only eat about half the fries and half the sandwich. I’ve noticed my appetite has changed a lot with marathon training. I never have a voracious appetite after running. Stay tuned for a post about marathon training and metabolism!

Image

One comment

  1. mattkruczlnicki · · Reply

    Haha – the water pressure at the drinking fountains – that’s funny

Leave a Reply

