Extensor Tendonitis?

I’m falling apart. Not really. I think I’ll be okay but I’m just frustrated. The long runs are just really taking a toll on my body.

So back up to Saturday when we had a 12 mile run. About 3 miles in, my left sneaker felt a little loose so I stopped to tie it tightly. BAD idea. I think that’s the reason I’m icing my foot now. My foot felt okay during the run. I was mainly focused on the annoying hip pain, although it was significantly better than during the 19-miler the week before. During the last couple of miles my left foot felt strange. Maybe just a tired feeling and not impacting my running at all.

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 6.58.46 AM

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 6.56.38 AM

It was a pretty chilly run but I still wore my shorts, zensah compression sleeves, tank top and arm warmers. I forgot to use Body Glide so had some chafing along the edges of my arm warmers. The run went alright. We ran a new route for us to Rosslyn and then to Roosevelt Island. The run up to Rosslyn was uphill and also may have contributed to my tendonitis since I haven’t done hills much at all. Roosevelt Island was a nice change-up! The trail running quickly turned into boardwalk running, and the trail ran about a mile around the island.

Once home, my left calf felt tight and my left foot felt tight and tired. I put my CEP recovery compression socks on for the rest of the day and overnight.

That afternoon, Mike and I went drove 1.5 hours to Gettysburg for the night for a fall getaway! On the way we stopped at Whole Foods for lunch.

Yum... veggie pizza with pesto!

Yum… veggie pizza with pesto!


Since it was pretty chilly out, I didn't drink as much water as usual while running.  Need to hydrate post-run a lot.

Since it was pretty chilly out, I didn’t drink as much water as usual while running. Need to hydrate post-run a lot.

Felt pretty great on my hip/piriformis.  My side was on 5, max, for pretty much the whole drive.

Felt pretty great on my hip/piriformis. My side was on 5, max, for pretty much the whole drive.

We walked around Devil’s Den and the town that evening and I didn’t have any foot issues. But it’s also hard to tell with the CEP compression socks on. Later that evening, we had my absolute favorite pretzel twists at the Pub!

Delicious garlicky pretzels with marinara sauce

Delicious garlicky pretzels with marinara sauce


DSCN0463

Gettysburg!

Gettysburg!

Yesterday I walked around quite a bit with going to work and then going to class in the evening. The top of my foot feels very sore, almost bruised. I don’t think a stress fracture is a possibility because it doesn’t hurt to touch the metatarsals or to curl my towns down. It does hurt to pull my toes to me. There’s not really any swelling though and it’s not painful to walk, just feels a little sore. The soreness is high up on the top of my foot so I really think it’s extensor tendonitis due to too tight laces and running uphill. I’m going to keep icing and take anti-inflammatories. I hope I’ll be able to do the 20 mile run this Saturday!

When researching, I found this interesting article with videos from Runner’s World on different ways to tie running sneakers to prevent a variety of issues and problems.

2 comments

  1. […] a huge fan of soft pretzels, as you can see from my numerous blog photos of them (one, two, three, four) and running just makes me crave them more. Soft pretzels provide the perfect combo of carbs […]

  2. […] I must have untied and retied my sneakers 10 times. I’ve been experiencing self-inflicted extensor tendinitis. I tie my sneakers too tight sometimes. I love my new Altra sneakers but the laces are short so in […]

Leave a Reply

