6 Days until the Richmond Marathon!

It’s so hard to believe that the Richmond Marathon is just 6 days away! I feel like my running confidence is down because our 20 miler seems so long ago now! And I haven’t run in a few weeks either since I’ve been resting my extensor tendons. But I know I can do this. This is not the time to have self doubt.

I tried tying my sneakers differently to help with the extensor tendonitis. With this way there isn’t as much pressure from the laces on the top of my foot.

Screen Shot 2013-11-09 at 10.21.13 AM

Image 4

It feels better to walk but I haven’t tried running with the left laced like this yet. I’d like to get in a 1 or 2 mile run at some point this week as well as yoga 1-2 times. But I also want to get maximum sleep this week and pay close attention to my diet. Starting tomorrow.

We went to Costco, Target and Harris Teeter to get our regular food for this week as well as last minute running things. I have to be REALLY careful with what I eat the week before a race because I have IBS. I’m cutting out carbonated beverages (including seltzer, which I love) starting tomorrow and increasing overall salt intake. I’ll up fiber intake for the first half of the week and cut down and out toward the end of the week. I’ll also cut out sugar and cut back on dairy. Some important purchases:

My PT suggested crushing up and putting into water for during the race.  I'm not sure I'll need to do that. I plan on having a couple before the race though and the days leading up to Saturday.

My PT suggested crushing up and putting into water for during the race. I’m not sure I’ll need to do that. I plan on having a couple before the race though and the days leading up to Saturday.

PT also suggested getting enough caffeine to keep mental focus during the race. I might throw one of these in my water around mile 16.

PT also suggested getting enough caffeine to keep mental focus during the race. I might throw one of these in my water around mile 16.

Ran out of salt today! Will definitely need salt this week.

Ran out of salt today! Will definitely need salt this week.

Salty snacks!

Salty snacks!

Pre-race bar.  We love that Larabar ingredients are only cashews, dates, chocolate chips and sea salt.  Favorite flavor!

Pre-race bar. We love that Larabar ingredients are only cashews, dates, chocolate chips and sea salt. Favorite flavor!

Leave a Reply

