2 Days Until the Richmond Marathon!

Screen Shot 2013-11-10 at 7.27.57 PM

2 days.

The last few days I’ve felt pretty nervous but today I woke up just excited! There’s really not much more I can do besides going into the race confident, rested and hydrated. I put the training in with a few hiccups along the way. I know I CAN do this. Pain might (will probably) happen along the way but I’m hoping the adrenaline will push me through to the finish! Of course, we’ll all be smart about it and stop if we need to. I think a lot of the anxiety is coming from not knowing what running 26.2 miles feels like! When I think about running half marathons, I have a good feeling for what that is like and how I’ll feel generally.

I’m sure I’ll be in more of a reflective mood after the marathon but I decided to go back and read my first blog entry. Here’s a part of it from July 15:

“I’m so excited the three of us are training together. We’ll be able to learn from each other’s experiences as well as have continued support throughout the whole process. This will be truly transformational. I get goosebumps thinking about the moment running down the hill at mile 26 to the finish line at Richmond. It’s amazing to think of how far we will come in these next few months.”

It’s really been such a fun experience but with highs and lows along the way. Yeah, I wish I didn’t get two calf strains and tendonitis but I have learned a lot, and, I think, have become a better runner. Before this experience I never really stretched or fueled during runs or realized the importance of a strong core and strength training. In addition, being a Type A person who likes to control situations, I worked on being okay with not being in control, not being able to speed up my calf strain healing. It was so frustrating and upsetting for me at the time not being able to run, not being able to train for the marathon and unsure if I’d be able to even run the marathon.

It was so exciting to be able to get back into training after my calf strain, something I didn’t think would really happen. I caught up in the long runs, probably making myself more injury-prone by doing so…. I started to look forward to the long runs and the routine each week (and eating French fries after the run!). I can’t imagine doing this without Matt and Mike. We made each other go for runs on very cold mornings and very hot, humid mornings when we’d much rather just stay home. We encouraged each other during the 17, 18, 19 and 20 mile runs. I can’t wait for us all to be together at the start line in Richmond in 2 days! We made it to the start line. That’s a pretty big accomplishment in itself.

Runner’s World has a cool feature where you can type in the weather for race day among some other things (cloud cover, wind, race length, etc.) and they’ll suggest an outfit. Here’s what was suggested for me!

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 5.38.35 PM

I think I’ll probably wear a tank top with arm warmers (to start at least). Still TBD. I’m bringing enough clothes to probably run 5 races. I’ll need options on race day morning!

Image

Leave a Reply

