Picking Up the Pace

Mike and I went for runs on Friday evening and today (Sunday), trying to run a little faster for each run. On Friday, it was COLD. I prefer running in the mornings and getting it out of the way but I’m glad Mike pushed me to get out and go for a 4 mile run. We just ran up the Mall to the Washington Monument and back. On the way back, the Capitol tree lights were on as well as the Botanical Garden lights!
Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.51.47 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.51.32 PM

This morning, Mike had a power breakfast before our run. Yup, that’s a red velvet cupcake!

Perfect balance of balance of carbs and sugars?

Perfect balance of balance of carbs and sugars?

I had oatmeal, which I’d never had before running, and had zero problems on the run. A nice warm breakfast before a chilly run was perfect! It was nice to have the sun out but the wind was fierce. It was really tough running down the mall, straight into the wind. I have trouble breathing in the cold weather (I had been diagnosed with seasonal asthma when I was in high school) and had to stop at one point to cough and catch my breath. It helps to keep my neck covered. I wore a long-sleeve with a higher neck but wished it went up higher to cover my mouth.

We ran up to the White House to see the Christmas tree and all the state trees.
IMG_1911

IMG_1912

And also spotted Santa fixing the train set!

IMG_1921

White House

White House

IMG_1927

We then ran through downtown DC to the Downtown Holiday Market. Surprisingly that was our second fastest mile! We kept hitting the lights so we’d basically sprint the blocks. We perused the Holiday Market and then headed back home, running by the Capitol Christmas tree.

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.52.39 PM

Screen Shot 2013-12-15 at 4.52.56 PM

We had District Taco for lunch on Capitol Hill. Amazing fish tacos!

Yumm tacos, chips and salsa!

Yumm tacos, chips and salsa!

Sad news. My Saucony ear band that I have only worn 4 times (I got it right before our 20 mile training run) has lost the “a”. It’s now “S ucony” and the s is about to fall off, as well. I’m really disappointed with the quality. I appreciate having reflective words, etc. on my running gear and now it’s falling off. Plus I’d think Saucony would want to be sure their name stays on their gear for marketing purposes, as well. I love this the heathered gray look of this ear band (and it’s so warm and comfortable!) but soon now one will know the brand of my pretty ear band!

S ucony :(

S ucony 😦

One comment

  1. […] find it pretty hard to breath, at times, when running in the cold, as I mentioned in a previous post. The wind makes breathing even harder. Because of the wind, the cold and really pushing myself for […]

Leave a Reply

