Cold Weather Running

Since my last post a couple of weeks ago, I went on just 3 runs outside (actually 3 runs period). Mike and I kicked off his birthday (Dec. 21) with a 7ish mile run – our longest since the Richmond Marathon. It was a sunny day with highs expected to reach in the sixties by the afternoon! However, it was still chilly and windy for our morning run. The wind was a killer and seemed to be always changing directions. We did still achieve our negative splits goal!

Run on Mike's Birthday!

Run on Mike’s Birthday!

Negative splits!

Negative splits!

I find it pretty hard to breath, at times, when running in the cold, as I mentioned in a previous post. The wind makes breathing even harder. Because of the wind, the cold and really pushing myself for the last couple of miles, I started wheezing at Capitol Hill (mile 6-ish). I had to stop for a few minutes to inhale deeply and try to slow down my breathing. I have an inhaler but rarely bring it because I stop running as soon as I experience any breathing difficulty. I told Mike I think it would help if I could cover my neck and mouth when I am running into the wind or when it’s especially cold out.

So Mike found a perfect solution for a Christmas present for me! He bought me this cool Under Armour Fly By turtleneck with a breathing panel in the neck.

Cool neck!

Cool neck!

Poor quality fabric

Poor quality fabric

There was a big pull in the fabric though so we planned to return it to Dick’s over Christmas vacation. But unfortunately there must be a flaw in the fabric because all the other turtlenecks had multiple pulls. I hope Under Armour realizes the poor quality of the material and continues to make this style with a different fabric! So I exchanged it for another style from Nike! It’s in the mail now so stay tuned for a review soon.

Over Christmas, Mike and I went for a short run at my house. It was nice to stretch our legs although it took about 2 miles just to warm up a bit. It had started to sleet/snow out while we were running. We ran a couple of laps around the neighborhood adjacent to our street, reaching a total of about 4 easy miles. Handwarmers were essential – it was very damp and cold out. I tried out Matt’s EMS fleece neck warmer that was at home (not really for running). But it made a huge difference to have my neck covered and be able to pull it up over my mouth. I didn’t have any breathing/wheezing issues.

Inside warm house before run

Inside warm house before run

Warm neck!

Warm neck!

Brr...are we sure we want to do this?

Brr…are we sure we want to do this?

4 miles done!

4 miles done!

Our runs in DC are definitely more scenic and interesting but it was nice to get in some hills!

Hilly!

Hilly!

Not very exciting...

Not very exciting…

One comment

  1. […] pretty windy. I was excited to try out my new Nike Pro Hyperwarm Side Tie Top. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I exchanged a defective Under Armour top (poor quality fabric) for the Nike winter top. Dick’s […]

Leave a Reply

