Naturebox – Month One

I’m a snacker. I like healthy food. I also like being surprised. I love Naturebox!

For Christmas, Mike got me a 3-month subscription to Naturebox – a company that delivers “wholesome and tasty treats” to your home on a monthly basis. I’d been getting targeted facebook ads for Naturebox for awhile so was vaguely familiar with the idea.

How Naturebox arrives

How Naturebox arrives

6 bags of snacks!  So exciting!

6 bags of snacks! So exciting!

Inside, I found five fairly good size bags of snacks. The bags are resealable – snackers know this is a very important feature. First of all, the whole surprise aspect was really fun! But if you like to pick out your snacks, you can customize on Naturebox’s website. I’ve opted for the surprise aspect for all three boxes. I loved everything in the first but the second box had a few misses (stay tuned for that review!). Each bag also has a thorough description of the snack inside. These aren’t your everyday rice cracker and chex mix snacks. I’ve never seen some of these snacks before; it’s fun to try out new snacks.

Each box also comes with a double sided sheet of paper with short descriptions of the snacks, serving suggestions (if you don’t want to eat straight out of the bag) and even a simple recipe! This one had a recipe for Dark Cocoa Almond Butter. I’m sure that would be delicious but my cocoa covered almonds disappeared pretty quickly on their own.

DSCN0701

DSCN0703

This was the first bag I opened and I think my favorite in the box - so delicious!

This was the first bag I opened and I think my favorite in the box – so delicious!

Not a TON of almonds in this big but a great thick coating, not just a dusting, of cocoa.  More for dessert!

Not a TON of almonds in this big but a great thick coating, not just a dusting, of cocoa. More for dessert!

I ate this alone rather than with milk.  A little messy (crumbs) but delicious with the perfect amount of sweetness.

I ate this alone rather than with milk. A little messy (crumbs) but delicious with the perfect amount of sweetness.

This bag seemed to last forever not because I didn't like them but because the bag was really packed with delicious chickpeas.

This bag seemed to last forever not because I didn’t like them but because the bag was really packed with delicious chickpeas.

Good on their own or dipped in hummus!

Good on their own or dipped in hummus!

I loved how there was a snack to satisfy every craving – sweet, salty, spicy, crunchy – and for any time of the day – breakfast, morning snack, dessert, afternoon snack, etc. I really thought this was the perfect mix of snacks and the perfect amount (although I was sad to finish the bags). By the time I had finished or had come close to finishing the 5 bags, I had gotten the second month’s Naturebox. What a great idea to keep healthy snacks delicious and interesting. Having this box helped me to avoid reaching for unhealthy cookies and chips – you’re given so many tasty alternatives to junk food!

One comment

  1. Dark cocoa almonds sound so good

Leave a Reply

