Marathon Training Week 1 Recap

As I mentioned in a previous post, Mike, Matt and I are all following the customizable Asics Marathon Training Plan, available for free online. We all selected to run 3, rather than 4, times per week. I ran the weekday runs by myself in the morning before work, while Mike and I ran the 8.5 mile run together on Saturday.

Saturday's Run along the Mount Vernon Trail

Saturday’s Run along the Mount Vernon Trail

I’m also trying to build up strength in my legs to prevent injuries and prepare me for the Richmond hills. Last year, my PT kept telling me to do more squats and lunges to help prevent piriformis, calf and other leg issues. I’m trying to be more proactive this time around! In addition, I’m building in yoga each week to the marathon training plan. I didn’t do yoga frequently enough and earlier enough last year, resulting in slower recovery and my being more prone to injuries.

Monday – 5.5 mile build-up run (8:38-8:06, speeding up each mile)

Monday, 6/30

Monday, 6/30

Tuesday – Rest day

Wednesday – P90X Legs & Back DVD and Ab Ripper X

Thursday – 5.5 mile build-up run (8:38-8:06, speeding up each mile)
note: I forgot to stop my watch at a stop light during mile 4, messing up the speeding up pattern

Thursday, 7/3

Thursday, 7/3

Friday – P90X YogaX DVD

Saturday – 8.5 mile comfortable run (9:31-8:38)
Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 11.16.11 AM

Saturday, 7/5

Saturday, 7/5

Leave a Reply

