Review: Athleta Pulse Shorts

I’m always on the hunt for the perfect pair of running shorts. I basically rotate my favorite three pairs: Lululemon black pace shorts (discontinued), Nike Rival navy, Nike Rival black. I need some colored shorts and another pair to add to the rotation. I wanted to like the Oiselle Roga shorts that get rave reviews from runners but I’m in between sizes. After an unsuccessful stop at Lululemon, I popped into Athleta. I was instantly drawn to the super light-weight Pulse shorts. I tried them on in Catalina Green and didn’t like how they were slightly see-through to the mesh liner. But I luckily found a slightly darker and not see-through pair in a pretty Cerulean Blue color in the store.

I LOVE these shorts! I really can’t find anything wrong with them. First of all, they have my required yoga-style waistband. I can’t go back to the wrinkly elastic kind after experiencing the yoga waistband. This waistband style is not only comfortable but also prevents any pinching and gives you a smooth look (aka no muffin top). I also like that the waistband hits slightly low.

Yoga-style waistband

Yoga-style waistband

Second, the fabric is so light with the perfect amount of stretch; it wicks and dries very quickly. I ran with these last Saturday and can attest to their quick-dry claim. In addition, the fabric is rated UPF 50+, something I think that’s pretty rare in running shorts. I’d think this is probably more important in tops. Athleta offers a short-sleeve and long-sleeve tee with UPF that can be worn for running.

LOVE my new shorts! Pre-run on Saturday

LOVE my new shorts! Pre-run on Saturday

Third, there’s a wide leg opening. I hate when my legs feel confined. There’s plenty of room to move in these shorts!

Fourth, there are so many cute colors to choose from!

Solid color options (also print available)

Solid color options (also print available)

Fifth, the zip pocket in the back can hold an iPhone! I haven’t tried running with my iPhone in the bag pocket but I’m curious how that would feel. Nice to have as an option!

Big back pocket - holds an iPhone!

Big back pocket – holds an iPhone!

Sixth, the price is reasonable. These are typically $44 but I got them on sale for $33! I regret not getting another pair now.

Lastly, Athleta offers a Give-it-a-workout Guarantee. If you don’t love it, then just return it anytime for any reason.

For my first Athleta purchase, I’m very pleased and plan to shop more at Athleta. I also noticed a great selection of sports bras and these cute tank tops when I was there (Athleta wish list!):

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 8.25.04 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-07 at 8.25.18 PM

One comment

  1. […] an extremely picky running shorts person. I’ve previously reviewed Nike Rival shorts and Athleta Pulse shorts, favorites of mine. My ultimate favorite shorts, Lululemon Pace shorts, have been discontinued, […]

Leave a Reply

