Friday Finds!

Potomac River Running in downtown DC is the ONLY store that sells these cool Run DC shirts! I love Next Level brand for the super soft broken-in feel of their t-shirts. The shirts come in both unisex and women’s. This is just a sampling of the styles and colors. I can’t decide which one to get!

Image 5Image 6photo 2

I don’t know about you, but I love the shavasana or corpse pose at the end of a yoga session. It’s so relaxing and grounding. Apparently, according to Wikipedia, in traditional yoga practice this pose is held for 20-30 minutes while in Western practice, it’s much less (1-3 minutes for me usually). Inner focus and a mind-body connection is so essential to successful yoga practice. When I was recovering from my calf strain last year, my PT told me to focus on my mind and just relax – worrying about re-injury could cause my calf to tighten up and be more likely to strain. He suggested yoga and meditation to help relax. If you’re interested in meditation, Oprah Winfrey is offering a free 21-day meditation experience, beginning August 11th, in partnership with the Chopra Center. Just register for free on the website. You’ll receive an email link every day with that day’s meditation. I’ll be giving this a try!

Screen Shot 2014-07-18 at 2.07.04 PM

Leave a Reply

