Marathon Training Week 6 Recap

My recap is a little late this week because Mike and I were on vacation. My quad felt much better (guess it was just sore) so I kept up with the regular training plan.

Monday – 5.5 miles fast (8:19-7:52 pace)
This run was TOUGH. I had major stomach issues while doing the run after work. My stomach felt crampy when I started but I hoped I’d just run it off. Sort of… I had to stop twice to lay down for awhile on benches on the National Mall and also walk for awhile. My stomach hurt so much. I attribute it to the mussels we made the night before for dinner (full of garlic and onions – not good for my stomach). But I made it through 5 miles – couldn’t get that final 1/2 mile in.
Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 7.06.07 AM

Tuesday – 60 minute yoga at the Yards Park by VIDA Fitness
I’d only been to the Friday afternoon yoga sessions but got out of work a little early to get to the 5:45 Tuesday night yoga at the Yards Park. I couldn’t believe how many people were there – 40+! And everyone seemed pretty experienced with yoga; however, it’s a very comfortable environment where all levels are welcome. I absolutely love doing yoga outside. There’s something so relaxing about it. I’ll be sad when these classes end at the end of August!
IMG_2932

Wednesday – 5.5 miles fast (8:17-7:52 pace)
This run was also kind of tough. It was a hot and humid week in DC! Mike and I ran up to Potomac River Running‘s downtown DC store (about 1 mile) and then met up with the run club there. There was only one other person who we had met at a previous run club there. I don’t think the store managers promote this run very well. They didn’t even have anyone run with us. So it was just the 3 of us running at a comfortable pace. We were chatting the whole time so kept the pace lower than the plan called for. This run club could have so much potential so I hope it’s promoted better and run better in the future.
Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 7.10.42 AMScreen Shot 2014-08-13 at 7.15.19 AM

We stopped at &Pizza for some post-run dinner. This place is like Chipotle for pizza – you choose your own fancy toppings and they make it right in front of you, in a matter of minutes. Since the AC was broken at &Pizza, we brought our pizzas to Iron Horse Taproom (no food served there so you can bring your own) and got 2 DC Braus to go with our pizzas. This might have to become a new Wednesday night routine. 🙂
IMG_2936IMG_2938

Thursday – P90X3 Dynamix

Friday – REST

Saturday – 11 miles comfortable (9:39-8:46)
Mike and I ran this run in Lake George, NY along the bike trail and through Lake George Village. I’m impressed on our pace for this run. We both felt great and really got in a good rhythm. More on this run in another post!
Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 7.20.11 AM
IMG_2949

3 comments

  1. Beer with bring your own pizza?! Amazing!! That definitely sounds like it should be a new routine!

    1. I agree! It’s amazing pizza and such a cool concept. They are expanding, at least in the DC area for now, and there’s an &Pizza at Reagan National Airport!

  2. […] have WAY less time now. For example, weekday training runs are usually 5.5 miles. In 2014, I’d run 6 miles because I had the time. Not this year. I’m done at 5.5 EXACTLY. In […]

Leave a Reply

