Marathon Training Week 8 Recap

I missed one day this week and didn’t do the strength training that I wanted to get it. But we were out of town with busy schedules for a few days so I didn’t worry too much about it. Week 9 is a new week!

Monday – 5.5 miles comfortable (plan called for 9:36-8:43 pace)

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 5.03.55 PM

Tuesday – Yoga at the Yards Park for 60 minutes

Wednesday – 5 minute ab workout
Mike and I had planned to run our 3 mile slow jog but, due to evening rain and a lack of motivation to run later in the evening, we decided to just do a short ab workout. I read about Hungry Runner Girl‘s ab workout recently so we tried it out:
2 minutes forward plank on elbows
1 minute plank on side on elbow
1 minute plank on other side on elbow
1 minute forward plank on elbows

I didn’t think I’d be able to do it so it was a good feeling to complete it successfully! I’m glad Mike did it too because it helped me not to quit early (and vice versa, I think!).

Thursday – Rest (plan called for slow 3 mile jog at 10:30 pace)

Friday – Rest

Saturday – Rest

Sunday – Annapolis 10 Miler Race (plan called for 8.5 miles at a comfortable pace)
This is a pretty hilly course so I decided, rather than push it, I’d just treat it as a training run and not focus on trying to PR (get a personal record). I’m glad I was able to up my speed at the end; I’m trying to work on negative splits.

Cute, free Annapolis 10 Miler hats!

Cute, free Annapolis 10 Miler hats!

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 5.13.06 PM

Leave a Reply

