Marathon Training Week 10 Recap

Halfway through marathon training! This first week in September was extremely hot and humid. It’s hard to remember ever running with tights and long-sleeves, but I know that weather is not too far away. Next week we drop back our long run mileage and then pick it up to 17 the following week!

Monday – P90X YogaX

Tuesday – 3 mile jog (plan called for 10:28 pace)
I was glad just to have just 3 slow miles to run on this hot and humid day in DC! I planned it so I’d end my run at Kinko’s to pick up an order I had placed the night before. Then it’s just about a mile walk home from there. I drank almost my entire 22 oz water bottle during my 3 mile run.

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 11.13.27 AM
Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 11.15.24 AM

Wednesday – 8.5 mile run fast (plan called for 8:27-8:12 pace)
What a HOT and HUMID day! I thought about getting out at 6 am but since it was in the high 70s that early, I figured I’d be hot and sweaty no matter what. I was surprised that I kept my pace on track despite the extreme temps and heavy air. I did take a pretty long break at Arlington National Cemetery entrance, my turnaround spot at exactly 4.25 miles.

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 11.22.29 AM

Halfway point rest break - VERY sweaty!

Halfway point rest break – VERY sweaty!

Thursday – REST

Friday – P90X YogaX

Saturday – 14 mile run: 5.5 mi/8.5 mi fast and comfortable (8:12-7:47 and 9:33-8:40)
When Matt, Mike and I stepped outside at 7:30 am, we were hit with a wave of heavy, hot air. Uhoh. This run was not easy. We mixed up the route from last week and ran through Georgetown and along the C&O Canal Trail, which was shaded. There were a lot more runners out this weekend getting their long runs in, making the bike trail pretty congested. We took our gels at the turnaround point at Fletcher’s Boathouse. I’ve noticed that GU gives me a pretty big and sustained energy boost. Despite our hydration vests, we stopped at many water fountains on the way back. Mike would soak his hat and I’d soak my Bondi band. Very refreshing!

Surprisingly, I had zero stomach issues during or after this run. I’m not really sure why. The day before I had a green smoothie, kale salad for lunch and pizza for dinner. I did have a nuun, a chocolate milk, a piece of pizza and some tortilla chips right when I got home. I’ve found that getting food into me ASAP helps a lot with recovery.

Screen Shot 2014-09-08 at 11.17.57 AMScreen Shot 2014-09-08 at 11.18.15 AM

Fletcher's Boathouse - Turnaround Point

Fletcher’s Boathouse – Turnaround Point


Soaking his hat

Soaking his hat


Leftover pizza is the perfect post-run food!

Leftover pizza is the perfect post-run food!

Sunday – REST

2 comments

  1. Count your blessings dear! I ran up there in DC in May and I believe it was my best run all year long. Marathon and triathlon training in the Southernmost tip of Texas in the summer heat is brutal!!! Your pace and consistency is awesome! Keep it up!

    1. I don’t know how you deal with the heat and humidity! I found it tough to keep my pace up and be sure I’m hydrating enough. Congrats to you! Glad you loved your run in DC. It’s such a beautiful city!

Leave a Reply

