Marathon Training Week 13 Recap

It’s hard to believe it’s almost October and we really don’t have that many long runs left! Two things made me nervous for the Richmond Marathon this week: 1) being wiped out from the rolling hills during the Zooma Half Marathon (Richmond is a hilly course!) and 2) missing the 17 mile long run. Although I missed the long run, I did run my fastest half marathon yet! I’m thinking this coming week, I will get more squats in (from now on going forward) and also replace Saturday’s 8.5 mile run with a longer run to get in some additional mileage. Then I’ll have another long run (18.5) before a drop back week.

Monday – P90X YogaX

Tuesday – 3 mile jog and Ab Ripper X (plan called for 10:23 pace)

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 9.20.35 AM

Wednesday – 8.5 mile run fast (plan called for 8:22-8:09)

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 9.21.32 AM

Thursday – P90X YogaX

Friday – REST
Travel day from DC to Boston and then Cape Cod

Saturday – 13.1 mile run (plan called for 17 mile run at 8:09-7:43 and 9:30-8:37)
I ran the Zooma Women’s Half Marathon in Cape Cod with 3 friends. I figured that a very fast run (on a consistently hilly course) was maybe equivalent to 17 miles at a slower pace. I was exhausted after the race and could not imagine running anymore that day. I PR’ed! Alison and I also came in 2nd and 3rd in our age group!

IMG_3382

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 9.23.21 AMScreen Shot 2014-09-29 at 9.24.03 AM

Sunday – REST
Traveled back to DC from Boston

Leave a Reply

