Marathon Training Week 14 Recap

We’re getting into the homestretch of marathon training and still injury free, quite a change from last year! I’ve really focused on incorporating more yoga into my training this year and have noticed a big difference with muscle soreness, stiffness and overall recovery time. This week I subbed in a 17 mile run for the 8.5 mile weekend run since I didn’t get in the 17 miler last weekend (half marathon instead).

Monday – P90X YogaX

Tuesday – 3 mile jog and Ab Ripper X (plan called for 10:21 pace)
Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 7.41.33 PM

Wednesday – 5.5 mile comfortable (plan called for 9:28-8:35 pace)
Mike and I ran together after work and decided to mix up the route to get a few more hills in. We ran up Capitol Hill twice and then headed to Union Station before looping back to the National Mall. It was nice to have a break from the usual National Mall route (even though it is such an awesome running route).

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 7.44.41 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-05 at 7.45.06 PM

Thursday – P90X YogaX

Friday – 17 mile run (5.5 miles fast 8:09-7:43 and 11.5 miles comfortable 9:30-8:37)
Since I ran a half marathon last weekend rather than the 17 mile training run, I felt like I needed to get in a long run this weekend, especially for the mental training. Our marathon training plan called for 8.5 miles this weekend but with only an 18.5 miler and 22 miler left for really long runs before the marathon, my body was telling me I needed to get in one more very long run.

So Mike and I ran to Arlington National Cemetery and back to our condo building. Then I ran that same route again. It was tough to get going again. I used the bathroom at our condo building, had a Salted Watermelon GU and was off again, this time listening to a TED Talk podcast rather than my music. Luckily the clouds became thicker and it was noticeably cooler out, even raining during mile 15 – a welcome refresher! I experienced some GI issues but after using the restroom at WWII Memorial, I felt much better. Overall, a great 17 miler that built up my mental strength and gave me the confidence I needed!

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 8.01.48 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-05 at 8.01.35 PM
I forgot to stop my watch at mile 5, the turnaround at Arlington National Cemetery, where we took a short break.

Arlington National Cemetery (Halfway for Mike, 1/4way for me!)

Arlington National Cemetery (Halfway for Mike, 1/4way for me!)

Same spot a little while later… 3/4way done!

Same spot a little while later… 3/4way done!

Saturday – REST

Sunday – REST

Leave a Reply

