Marathon Training Week 15 Recap

Another very long run in the books with only 1 more (a 22 miler!) very long run to go. Saturday, our long run day, was almost exactly the same weather as last year’s Richmond Marathon – cold, rainy, windy. Deja vu moments. It was good training to have to deal with less-than-ideal running conditions and also get lots of hills into our training, which is not always easy to do in DC. The Custis Trail isn’t very scenic, as it just runs along I-66, but it’s fun to try something new! Three days of yoga was a lot this week but I notice a big improvement in my flexibility, strength and recovery time, especially now that the runs are VERY long.

Monday – P90X YogaX

Tuesday – 3 mile jog and Ab Ripper X (plan called for 10:21 pace)
I didn’t feel great for this run. Between the rainy weather and my seasonal allergies, I really didn’t want to get off the couch. I decided to just improvise and run around our neighborhood rather than running up to the National Mall. This run, although just 3 miles, was a struggle.

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.18.02 AMScreen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.17.47 AM

Wednesday – 8.5 miles fast (plan called for 8:21-8:08 pace)
I felt much better for this run than I had for the previous day’s run. I felt fast and rested. It was a windy, chilly fall day so I wore my capri pants for the first time since last spring!

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.18.22 AM

Thursday – REST

Friday – P90X YogaX

Saturday – 18.5 miles at pace (8:41 min/mile)
Such a cold, rainy morning for our long run! I realized that we experienced the same weather this weekend last year for our 19-mile run. I also realized I was wearing almost the same exact outfit.

2013

2013


2014

2014

That outfit didn’t last long. As soon as we got outside, I realized I was going to freeze. I decided to wear my new Annapolis 10 Miler Finisher jacket, which worked out great for the rainy, windy weather!
Ready to run 18.5!

Ready to run 18.5!

We decided to run via the National Mall to the Mount Vernon trail and then connect with the Custis trail in Rosslyn, VA. This was a new route for me but Mike and Matt ran this a couple weeks ago when I was in Cape Cod for Zooma. It was hilly, but necessary training for the very hilly Richmond Marathon. Although we didn’t hit the required 8:41 pace for this training run, I’m happy with our time considering the weather and the hills.
Turn around point at mile 9.25 on the Custis Trail

Turn around point at mile 9.25 on the Custis Trail

We stopped at miles 6 and 12 to take GU energy gels and then I made a quick bathroom stop at the WWII restrooms on the way back (mile 16). Also, I listened to the new This American Life podcast, Serial, that comes out on a weekly basis, about trying to solve a murder mystery from 1999. I got caught up on the past 3 weeks – it really made the time fly by!
Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.22.32 AM
Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.22.44 AM

Screen Shot 2014-10-12 at 10.22.52 AM
When we got home, I immediately had some Cape Cod potato chips (love the saltiness) and a chocolate milk. I felt fine with no stomach issues although I did lay down for at least half an hour. Mike and I split some buffalo wings and french fries for lunch at Bluejacket Brewery. It’s so strange but I don’t ever feel that hungry right after doing a long run. The next day I feel pretty hungry and feel like I need to eat every 3 hours. Strange delay.
Sunday – P90X YogaX

Leave a Reply

