Marathon Training Week 16 Recap

Just one month until the Richmond Marathon! I’m in much better shape (physically and mentally prepared) than I was last year at this time, so I’m feeling pretty excited for the marathon. It’s much better the second time around for me, in a way. Last year, it was really incredible to hit distance milestones on a weekly basis, but this year I’ve taken what I learned last year (stretch, cross train, incorporate yoga, among many other things) and applied that to my training. I’m feeling much more prepared, less anxious, and healthier going into the marathon this year. This was a drop back week so I took advantage of my rest days to simply rest, especially since my seasonal allergies are really bad this time of year. It’s crazy that we only have one really long run left (22 miles!) until #RunRichmond.

Monday – Ab Ripper X

Tuesday – REST

Wednesday – 3 mile jog and AB Ripper X (plan called for 10:20 pace)
Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.28.42 PM

Thursday – 8.5 miles fast (plan called for 8:19-8:06 pace)
Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.34.07 PM

Friday – P90X YogaX

Saturday – 8.5 miles comfortable (9:26-8:33)
Since I’ve been doing my 8.5 mile runs to Arlington National Cemetery and back, Mike and I decided to mix things up by heading towards Georgetown. It was a beautiful, though windy, fall day along the Potomac River!

Looking towards Georgetown and the Key Bridge

Looking towards Georgetown and the Key Bridge

IMG_3498
On the way back, we saw cameras and a crowd gathering around the Washington Monument. Capital One was filming a commercial with Ross Matthews from E!.
DC Celebrity Sighting

DC Celebrity Sighting


Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.35.11 PM
Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 4.35.24 PM

Sunday – REST

Leave a Reply

