Friday Finds!

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 9.40.33 AMRock ‘n Roll Marathon Series has released its DC race tech shirt, incorporating their new “DC,” rather than “USA” branding. I love the design this year! Also, use the code above for $10 off registration.

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 9.41.55 AMMike and I recently discovered Race Dots at a Marine Corps Marathon expo booth. These super strong magnets are meant to replace the annoying safety pins used for attaching race bibs to shirts. I can attest, after seeing them firsthand, these magnets are staying put while you run. They are incredibly strong; I had difficulty getting the front and back sides separated, so the creator suggested I use a corner of the packaging to wedge them apart. If you have short fingernails or don’t want to chip off nailpolish, this would really be the only way to separate the halves. I do think this is a creative idea for attaching a race bib without damaging clothing, but I’m not sold. I’ve actually never had a problem with safety pins damaging my shirts, but he did present the scenario of attaching a race bib to a running jacket – I can see how that would be difficult with safety pins. Another alternative would be to use one of the running belts that you can attach your race bib to. I think I’d be concerned having super strong Race Dots magnets against my skin for a prolonged period of time, and I also found them hard to pull apart and maneuver.

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 10.49.21 AM Timex has recently released a line of Ironman branded fitness watches at different price levels, available for pre-order. The Run X20 is clearly marketed towards women as every single advertising photo on the Timex website features women. The slim watch comes in a variety of colors, including a lime green, bright teal and fuchsia but also a more manly black with lime highlights (positioned way in the back in the photo above). At a very reasonable $100, this watch seems pretty similar to our basic Garmin Forerunner 10 watches. It offers the same features – distance, pace, calories burned, lighted option, pace alerts – with a similar battery life of 6 hours and a clear, simple interface. Also offering a run/walk and interval training setting, this watch isn’t targeted towards very serious runners but serves the purpose of tracking the basics such as pace, time, and calories burned. I’m really curious to see this watch in person once it comes out and to read reviews. It seems extremely comparable to our Garmin watches. I do like the Garmin Connect system where I can upload my activities online, compare and even see history on the Garmin Connect app. I’m curious if there’s any sort of upload option for the Timex Run X20.

Leave a Reply

