Marathon Training Week 17 Recap

Week 17 down…now it’s taper time! It feels great to have a long 22 miler run in the books, and to feel confident and ready for the Richmond Marathon, less than 3 weeks away.

Beautiful fall day in DC for our 22-mile run

Beautiful fall day in DC for our 22-mile run

Monday – P90X YogaX

Tuesday – 6 miles fast (plan called for 5.5 miles at 8:19-8:06 pace)
I decided to do the longer weekday run on Tuesday, rather than Wednesday, because of Wednesday’s terrible weather forecast of heavy rain and strong winds. I ran 6, rather than 5.5, because I like turning around at the Lincoln Memorial. Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 9.01.28 AM

Wednesday – REST

Thursday – 3 mile jog (plan called for 10:20 pace)
I was supposed to run this much slower than I actually did, but I just felt like going a little bit faster. Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 9.02.47 AM

Friday – P90X YogaX

Saturday – 22 miles at pace (plan called for 8:41 pace)
The second farthest we have ever ran! Last year, we ran a 20 miler as our longest training run prior to the Richmond Marathon. This year’s Asics Marathon Plan had us running a 22-miler as our longest run.

Before embarking on our 2nd longest run EVER

Before embarking on our 2nd longest run EVER


Saturday’s weather was perfect, starting off cool and warming up by early afternoon. I started off with arm sleeves and gloves but took the gloves off around mile 6 and the arm warmers off at mile 11, the turnaround spot. It’s nice to be able to put them in my hydration pack pockets.
Mile 11 turnaround

Mile 11 turnaround


I took GU gels at miles 6, 12 and 17 and also wore my Nathan hydration vest full of water and 3 tablets of nuun – I drank the entire 55 oz! We all chatted for most of the first half of the run. At the turnaround, we were feeling good but decided to run at our own comfortable pace and meet for a GU break at mile 17. I listened to one TED talk podcast and about 30 minutes of music.
Mike took this photo of me running around mile 18

Mike took this photo of me running around mile 18

I felt really great for the run and feel confident going into the marathon. Last year, I hit the “wall” around mile 20 of the marathon so it was a good feeling to run, in training, to 22 and not hit a wall. When we got back, I laid down on my yoga mat for awhile, drank a chocolate milk and a glass of ice cold water, ate some tortilla chips and took Immodium. For the rest of the day, I felt pretty good minus having some sore knees and being ready for bed at 8 pm. On Sunday, I felt stiff in the morning but, overall, felt pretty good! We’re ready to #RunRichmond!
Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 9.05.21 AM
Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 9.05.03 AM

Sunday – REST

2 comments

  1. I Can’t believe you all ran 22 miles…..great accomplishment and bodes well for a good Richmond day! ! Beautiful pictures of the 22 lie run in DC! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

