Stitches & Celiac: Running Makes Things Better

Life isn’t smooth. I’m trying my best to handle some bumps that have come my way in the past week.

Mike and I are moving to North Carolina in a few weeks (!) and although very exciting, moving is also overwhelming. There seems to be so much to get done in such a short amount of time.

Home Depot trip for moving boxes and supplies!

Home Depot trip for moving boxes and supplies!


I decided to add some drama to it all by walking into a glass wall beside a glass door at a doctor’s office (convenient actually). I’m not sure how I did it really. I know I was walking fast because I hit pretty hard and required 4 stitches on my bottom lip. The last time I’d been in the ER was probably when I was little with an ear infection. The whole thing was pretty upsetting, especially for someone who never really gets hurt and can’t stand the sight of blood. I kept telling myself that I’m strong, I can do hard things, I ran a marathon. So I got through the stitches and all that uncomfortableness and painfulness. I am keeping my fingers crossed that my teeth will all be okay. I was starved after our unplanned 4 hour trip to the ER so we stopped for some bubble tea (my favorite) on the way home.
I'm actually happy and trying to smile here.  I think I look pretty tough actually.

I’m actually happy and trying to smile here. I think I look pretty tough.

Next up, I got the results of my blood test from my doctor and the celiac panel shows some abnormalities. I’m really surprised. I don’t think I have any of the typical celiac disease symptoms. My GI issues align more with IBS. I’m setting up an appointment before we leave to discuss the results with my gastroenterologist. Stay tuned for more on that. There are worse things and now so many products come gluten-free. It’s doable. I’m already very careful with my diet because certain foods can trigger not-fun IBS reactions. Although, I would really miss bread baskets, soft pretzels and french fries if I had celiac disease.

Running makes things better. I went out for a run today and came back feeling a million times better. I felt in control, strong and moving forward. It’s amazing how therapeutic running can be.

I'm trying my best to smile here.  The good news is that I'm able to smile a bit more and bigger every day.

I’m trying my best to smile here. The good news is that I’m able to smile a bit more and bigger every day.


November is THE month to be grateful. So rather than feel sorry for myself or dwell in the past, I’m working on being grateful for all that I have and keeping things in perspective. Sometimes life throws you a curveball. It’s how you handle it that matters.

One comment

  1. […] for race pace 8:32 min/mile) After dealing with the injury this week, it felt really great to get out for a run – so […]

Leave a Reply

