The Day Before the Richmond Marathon

We’re currently sitting in our Residence Inn hotel room in Richmond, relaxing before tomorrow’s marathon! I’m in such a different place than I was last year before our first marathon, the Richmond Marathon. Last year I was so nervous and anxious but also excited, of course, after months of build up and training. This year, I’m feeling much more confident and prepared, having avoided injuries and gotten in all of the training runs. I also know what to expect. I know what 26.2 miles feels like now.

Yesterday, I went for my last training run – a 3 mile jog. It was a chilly day but not as chilly as it will be tomorrow…

Last training run!

Last training run!

Packing is never easy for a race you need to travel to – at least for me! I brought way more than I needed to but since we drove, that’s okay. photo 2-5 I went to bed VERY early last night (Thursday) because I’ve read that it’s very important to get a good night’s sleep two nights before the race. I slept 10 hours!

I’ve been careful with what I’ve eaten all week, but particularly the past couple of days. I’ve avoided fiber, dairy and sugar today and yesterday. This morning, I had 2 eggs with lots of salt. Mike and I had an early lunch (11 am) at Potbelly where I got a TKY (turkey, cheese (I figured it’s just a little bit) lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles, mayo) – delicious! photo 3-3I drank a lot of water on the car ride down to Richmond, a little less than 2 hours from DC. Mike and I went straight to the expo and were surprised how crowded it was at 2 pm! Sports Backers had a great selection of Richmond t-shirts, sweatshirts, jackets and other swag but we’re waiting to buy finishers’ gear at the Finish Line festival. Despite the crowds, there was no line to pick up our bib or long-sleeve tech shirt.
photo 4-2 We missed out on touring sights last year so decided to visit the Museum of the Confederacy and the Jefferson Davis White House in the afternoon. It was good to walk and stretch our legs a bit. The museum was alright (interesting fact: the museum opened in 1896!) but the guided tour through the Jefferson Davis house was fantastic. Very informative! I was starved after the tour so ate a bagel that we had bought that morning.

Jefferson Davis White House

Jefferson Davis White House

Our hotel, the Residence Inn at Short Pump, is a little bit of a drive from downtown (took us about 30 minutes in traffic). Last year we stayed downtown, right at the start line, which was very convenient and great for our first marathon. But Residence Inns have kitchens so we brought our own food for dinner, snacks for post-race and have more room to relax pre and post race.

Mike relaxing on the couch while I'm stretching on my yoga mat

Mike relaxing on the couch while I’m stretching on my yoga mat

6:30 Dinnertime!

6:30 Dinnertime!

We brought grilled chicken and pasta we had made last night at home.  I LOVE truffle salt on my pasta/anything

We brought grilled chicken and pasta we had made last night at home. I LOVE truffle salt on my pasta/anything


Then Mike and I watched the documentary, Spirit of the Marathon, on Hulu to pump us up for tomorrow!
Watching Spirit of the Marathon

Watching Spirit of the Marathon

Goodnight! We'll be up at 5 am tomorrow

Goodnight! We’ll be up at 5 am tomorrow

One comment

  1. Great blog! Very exciting! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

