Marathon Training Final Week (Week 20) Recap

Monday – 3 miles at 8:44 min/mile (plan called for 3 miles at 10:18 pace)
I kept checking twitter to see when the Concert for Valor rehearsal was happening on the National Mall. When I read that Jennifer Hudson was on stage, I threw on sneakers, shorts and a tank top (it was WARM out!) and ran up to the Mall. I stayed for about an hour to watch the rehearsal for the Veteran’s Day concert. Jennifer Hudson sang the Star Spangled Banner several times. Then she and Jessie J sang Titanium together. Such a cool DC insider moment!
photo-16
Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 2.30.39 PM
Tuesday – 5.5 at 8:39 min/mile (plan called for 5.5 miles at 8:32 pace)
Mike and I ran up to the Mall but couldn’t get too close because of the Concert for Valor. Although the concert wasn’t until 7 pm, the Mall opened at 10 am for concert goers and security was intense. We actually were able to run down the middle of closed streets and also heard The Zac Brown Band rehearsing!
Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 2.32.14 PM

Wednesday – P90X YogaX

Thursday – 3 miles at 9:00 min/mile (plan called for 3 miles at 10:18 pace)
My last run before the Richmond Marathon! The arctic chill was blowing in so I had to pull out my long sleeve tops, gloves, and ear band. I felt relieved to have made it through training injury free, a little sad for training being over, excited for the marathon, but, most importantly, I felt confident and prepared for Saturday.

Last training run!

Last training run!

Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 2.49.54 PM

Friday – REST

Saturday – The Richmond Marathon! 26.2 miles at 8:33 pace
We did it! I’m so proud of how we all did at this year’s Richmond Marathon. I trained hard and took what I learned from last year and from other races and applied those lessons to this race. Everything worked out really well! Once I let everything sink in, I’ll post a full race recap.

photo-17Screen Shot 2014-11-17 at 2.59.10 PM

Sunday – REST!!!

Leave a Reply

