Lululemon Fluffed Up Vest Review

Growing up in upstate NY, I never really understood vests for cold weather. It was always just too cold to even have a vest as an option (at least for me!). Now living in North Carolina, I realize the importance of a vest for winter days when you don’t want or need the bulk of a jacket. A vest seems to be a key wardrobe staple for this area.
Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.28.25 PM
I’ve been on a quest for a vest. After trying out a few including a cute polka dot one from Loft, I couldn’t get the fit right. They were either too short, too puffy, too shiny, too expensive, too sporty, too down smelling or too furry. I had to return the cute polka dot Loft vest because the fit was just off. Feeling the pressure of end-of-season vest scarcity and the desire to maximize my winter 2015 vest wearing, I decided to check out Lululemon.

Since Lululemon isn’t known for their deals, I often think about purchases for weeks and months on end. I think it took me about 4 months to decide on the Groove Pants, which I now wear more than any other item of clothing I own – worth the investment! As soon as I walked in, I knew I found my vest, but after looking at the price, I didn’t even try it on. After going home and thinking about it, I drove back to Lululemon the next week with the intention of buying it, using some of my leftover gift card balance.
Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 12.15.56 PM
I can’t say enough good things about the Fluffed Up Vest. I bought it mainly for everyday, casual wear but it’s actually made for running. When I first tried it on at the store, I noticed that the snug fit and longer length lead to a much more flattering puffy vest look. It’s not bulky at all but that doesn’t mean it’s not warm.

The first time I wore the vest was actually for running! I wore it to Runologie’s first run club when it was about 20 degrees out. The vest kept me incredibly warm for the 5 mile run at a comfortable pace. I think it’d be too hot to wear for any longer or for a significant distance in any warmer temperatures. I appreciated the longer length (called “cover your bum” extra length) and the high collar to keep my neck warm.

Post run club with no flash (not sure why my ear band is so crooked!)

Post run club with no flash (not sure why my ear band is so crooked!)

Other cool features of the vest:
– Love the Alberta Lake color – it’s an attractive deep blue/green color that would complement many outfits.
– It’s machine washable – just hang to dry. A Lululemon employee suggested fluffing it in the dryer for a few minutes.
– The double front zipper allows for either a snug and cozy or looser fit with added reflectivity.
– There’s a pocket inside a pocket that holds an phone perfectly, preventing it from bouncing in your pocket while running.
– I’m not a big fan of the smell of down and this coat, filled with PrimaLoft and goose down, has no smell whatsoever.

Post run club with flash (didn't realize my ear band had reflectivity too!)

Post run club with flash (didn’t realize my ear band had reflectivity too!)


Overall, a great vest for both casual wear and running. Although not cheap at $138, this vest is versatile, high quality and extremely warm.

Leave a Reply

