A Compilation of Running Thoughts

Without having an upcoming race on the calendar and having the temps in the 90s every day, it’s tough to stay motivated and keep to a running schedule. Mike and I have found the local running clubs to be both fun and motivating. I’ve mentioned a few of them including Blue Run Club and Big Boss Run Club. Now that we’ve moved to Raleigh from Cary, we’ll be much closer to Big Boss Brewery (Tuesday) and Runologie (Thursday, Sunday). After attending 15 Big Boss runs, you earn a Big Boss tech tee; Mike and I are only a few runs away! Did I mention incentives are also motivating? Runologie, which just opened in December, offers your pick of Runologie branded tech tee or singlet after 15 runs. Mike and I recently earned our singlets and wore them at Runologie this past Thursday night, which was also a Salming demo day. I tried out Salming sneakers a few months ago during a demo night and loved them; read the post here.

At our new house post-run club

At our new house post-run club

IMG_5365
Salming, a Swedish company, has their North America headquarters right here in Raleigh, NC! Check out this article published last week in the Triangle Business Journal about Salming.

After Runologie, we usually grab a beer at State of Beer, conveniently located right next door. Their beer menu changes all the time and last week featured a Picklemania beer. Perfect post-run refreshment. Check out my earlier post about the benefits of pickle juice (perhaps not the same benefits with pickle beer though).
IMG_5359

Today, Runologie had a sports massage therapist from Athletic Edge in Raleigh available for post run massages. After debating, I decided to put my name down for a 11:30 am massage. It felt a little weird to be getting a massage right on the sidewalk in front of Runologie and State of Beer. But at 11:30 am, there weren’t too many people out and about. I’ve only ever had sports massages during my calf strain in 2013. I remember them hurting but in a good way, if that makes sense. Lal Chand spent 15 mins massaging my lower back where the ligaments connect, legs and hip area. Interestingly, he asked if I sleep on my stomach. Apparently, that’s the worst way to sleep because your head is always turned to the side, putting tension on your neck and back; additionally, having your toes pointed causes your calves to contract and tighten. The best way to sleep is on your back, according to Chand, with a pillow under your knees. The second best way is on your side with a pillow between your legs and between your arms. Chand also said that my glutes, especially left, are very tight and gave me suggestions on how to run using my hip flexors rather than just my glutes. Not only did the sports massage loosen up my muscles, but I learned a lot during it to help improve my running. I’d highly recommend Athletic Edge if you’re in the Raleigh area!

Sports massage location

Sports massage location


Lastly, are hair scrunchies coming back in style? I saw this display in Rite Aid for sporty scrunchies. I do like the pop of color but I’m not sure about the hold as compared to a typical elastic.
IMG_5357

One comment

  1. David Kruczlnicki · · Reply

    Great blog! Would love to Rey the pickle brew…sounds refreshing! I especially liked reading about your experience with a massage post-running and the masseuse’ suggestions about the healthiest sleeping postures. I didn’t know any of that.

Leave a Reply

