My Favorite Running Route & Blog Anniversary

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 5.11.32 PM
I’ve missed this route! When we lived in DC, we could run from our condo building along the National Mall to the Lincoln Memorial and back for a perfect 6-mile route. While in DC last weekend, my brother Matt and I ran the usual Mall route (Mike was unfortunately sick).
IMG_5409
Besides the wonderful memories that come flooding back when I run this route, the National Mall is a perfect place to run for many other reasons:
– soft surface breaks up running on concrete sidewalks
– water fountains

2014 Marathon Training - soaking hat on a very hot day

2014 Marathon Training – soaking hat on a very hot day


– sprinklers to run through
IMG_5413
– bathrooms
– great people watching
– energizing to be surrounded by so many people (many of them runners!)
– always something going on from festivals to walks/runs to kickball tournaments to filming
– flat, except for Capitol Hill
– and of course, the awe-inspiring Memorials and Monuments
IMG_5419

Being back in DC and running on the Mall made me nostalgic for marathon training. Mike and I are taking this fall off from running a marathon, deciding to run a couple of half marathons and shorter distance races instead. Between being in DC reminiscing and getting a notification from WordPress of my two year blog anniversary, I went back to re-read my blog posts from July 2013 and July 2014.

One of my main reasons for starting this blog in 2013 was to chronicle training for my first marathon with my husband and brother. It’s so nice to have our running-related memories captured and rewarding to see how far we’ve all come in just two years.

July 2013: “False Start”
July 2014: Abraham Lincoln Profile Run

2014 Marathon Training Run

2014 Marathon Training Run

2 comments

  1. David Kruczlnicki · · Reply

    Great blog! I love the pictures of DC and enjoyed hearing about what’s involved in the experience of running on the mall. Understandable why it’s so much fun! And enjoyed re-reading the two prior blogs….the Lincoln profile run is especially amazing and entertaining.

  2. Happy anniversary to your blog! While I don’t run as far as I used to, and my energy for running even shorter distances is waning more than thriving – – the reason I visit your pages from time to time is to stay connected with a dialogue about running that includes its ups and downs. The writing is accessible and I look forward to reading about the routes, the encounters and the challenges of race prep and finding ideal accessories like shoes. I also realized I probably should check out compression sockwear as well. Thanks for staying dedicated to your passion and for writing about it~

Leave a Reply

