Six Weeks Until Raleigh Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon!

One of the things I love most about running is the challenge – both mental and physical. There are countless ways to continually challenge yourself whether it’s by increasing your speed or distance, changing up your route or adjusting to changes in your external environment — a new baby, for example!

img_4204

Finding time (and energy) to run isn’t as easy as it once was, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! 🙂

I’ve run several half marathons over the past few years, but that doesn’t make the upcoming Raleigh Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon any easier. I know what to expect, especially since I’ve run this course before and wrote a detailed blog recap. However, my training hasn’t gone as I had planned. But that’s alright. I know I’ll be able to complete it and am 100% okay not PR’ing (although I will try!).

Being a mom and training for a race is not easy. Maybe I’m stating the obvious here but I did not realize how challenging it would be. I figured I’ve trained for a marathon; I’m disciplined, motivated and good with time management! I could carve out time to train. But it’s not that easy – at least it hasn’t been for me.

My training plan, Hal Higdon’s Novice I, began in early January with two runs during the weekdays and one longer run on the weekend. I set a goal to incorporate one day of strength training and one day of yoga each week. That hasn’t really happened consistently. Between sicknesses (including an awful week of the stomach virus!) and not always sleeping through the night, I’ve had to adjust my plan. Having a baby has taught me to be flexible and to give myself a break! There’s no way to do it all. Just enjoy the moment.

So here’s where I am with six weeks to go until the Raleigh Rock ‘n Roll Half:

Tuesday, 2/14: 4.5 miles at 8:32  I find the weekday runs harder than the weekend runs. It’s hard for me to stay in the moment and really enjoy the run. I just want it to be over so I can go pick up our little boy at school 🙂 I was pretty sore and tired from 6 miles I ran on Sunday (first run post stomach virus) and also dealing with a blister. I should have calluses, not blisters at this point in my training! My next post will include some tips on how to stay motivated.

Saturday, 2/18: 8 miles at 8:07 (longest run in 13 months!) This run felt great although my calves were very tight during and after. Now that I’m increasing mileage, I need to make a point to stretch. I don’t need to do a whole 90 min yoga dvd but just squeeze in some down dogs when I can! The weather was absolutely beautiful – 65 degrees and sunny.

img_4132

Mike and I took turns running on Saturday and then relaxed on the front porch 🙂

Sunday, 2/19: 3 miles at 8:51 (bonus run – not part of training plan) Incentives are great motivation to run. With only a couple of weeks left of Sunday Big Boss Run Club before they move to Tuesday nights, we decided to take advantage of the beautiful weather to do a shake-out run – and pick up the stainless steel pint glasses we earned after running 25 times! Unfortunately, they need to reorder them so we’ll pick the glasses up next week. Still, knowing we were going to run today motivated me to stretch a lot yesterday and this morning. And I think the run really helped my sore muscles – I felt a lot better afterwards. Wearing my calf sleeves helped immensely (should have also worn them to bed last night).

img_4208

Family run at Big Boss Run Club

img_4216

Compression calf sleeves really help my tight and sore calves

Also, you might remember last spring Mike and I ran the Sola Hot Mini 5K – awesome race! Unfortunately we’ll be out of town this year for it. BUT we will be running Ella’s Race Chick-fil-A race series 10K (also a 5K option which I ran/walked last year). We both loved this race and plan to make it a yearly tradition! Looking forward to have William join us this year. I plan to push him in the BOB stroller.

Leave a Reply

