Listening to Your Body: Five Weeks Until RNR Half Marathon

I might have overdone it. I need to take my own advice and remember the lessons I learned during other race trainings.

Last Saturday, I ran my longest run in over a year – 8 miles! And at a pretty fast pace too. I finally felt mentally ready for the half marathon. Despite my tight calves, I ran the following day with Big Boss Run Club, hoping a “shake out run” would help the tightness. Really? I know my body. I know I need to stretch and that running two days in a row usually doesn’t turn out well for me.  And it didn’t.

I had planned to run Wednesday and Thursday. But Wednesday’s run was rough. My calves were incredibly tight. I shouldn’t have been surprised. I barely stretched, and I haven’t been doing any strength training. So Thursday and Friday I focused on stretching and foam rolling, followed by 90 minute P90X YogaX dvd on Saturday which did wonders. For the next five weeks, I’m going to be diligent about doing yoga, strength training and foam rolling, even if that means cutting back on runs during the week. Every body is different and no one training plan will apply to everyone. I’ve learned to listen to your body first. I just need to take my own advice!

Wednesday, 2/22: 4.5 miles at 8:35  With the unseasonably warm weather, I couldn’t wait to get out for a run after work with William. I found it more enjoyable to run with him  rather than run solo before picking him up at school. I was more present and enjoyed the moment rather than seeing my run as something to get over with asap.img_4295

However, my calves were SO tight. I almost turned around. I wasn’t sure if I should keep going and hope my calves loosened up or if I should turn around. I kept running, stopping several times to stretch. My calves felt better as I ran but not close to normal.

William slept for the first time in the BOB stroller facing forward. I reclined it so he was more comfortable. It’s so much lighter to push without the carseat in it!img_4298

Saturday, 2/25: P90X YogaX  It’s hard to carve out 90 minutes to do yoga on a regular basis, but I’m going to try. Yoga’s helped me become a better, stronger and faster runner. It helps loosen and strengthen my calves, hamstrings, hips, quads, etc. It’s worth making the time for it.

My yoga buddy crawled over to my mat from his mat. I took a break to cuddle with him (Mike did his long run on Saturday) and he fell asleep for the second half of YogaX.img_4357

Sunday, 2/26: 9 miles at 8:25   I set off on my run unsure if I was going to do 6, 7, 8 or 9 miles. My plan was to run on the Greenway and end at Big Boss Brewery. Mike was going to run 3 miles with William with Big Boss Run Club, and I was planning on meeting up with them afterwards.

I wore my CEP compression sleeves which helped keep my calf muscles loose. I decided to go for 9 miles since I was feeling pretty good. The last mile was difficult but I feel mentally ready for the RNR Half Marathon now. Took awhile to get there! Now I just need to get physically ready to run 13.1 miles.

I ran into Mike and William on the Greenway and ran the last mile and a half back with them to Big Boss. This was our last Sunday run as run club will switch to Tuesday nights again soon. We earned our stainless steel pint glasses for going to 25 runs – perfect timing!img_4390

Next week and beyond: I’m going to try to do yoga one day and run one day during the week. Also, as I mentioned, we are running Ella’s Race, part of the Chick-fil-A race series, on March 18th. If you’re interested in running a fun, family-friendly 5K or 10K, register here with the discount code 2017ellasrace! 

One comment

  1. David Kruczlnicki · · Reply

    Great blog, and super pictures. Thanks for writing and posting it.

Leave a Reply

